Netbeans 7 and Yii 1.1.7

Guys,

I am new to yii. I installed netbeans 7 but cannot seem to locate yii code completion under plugins?

How do i activate yii code completion under netbeans 7 ?

Hi, and welcome to the Yii community. :)

What did you try?

Did you read the guide in our wiki about Netbeans and Yii?

Netbeans guide

You can safely ignore all that test stuff - I did, because I’m not testing my code. :P

What’s important is the section about code completion, especially the bit where you ignore yiilite.php.

do u think that NetBeans is the best IDE to work on Yii? I suggest notepad++ !

Ok, will ignore the testing part.

notepad++ … why ?

for many reasons, it is

1- light

2- easy to use

3- small and smart

4- supports PHP and HTML and CSS codes

5- supports Unicode & UTF-8 & BOM & etc

6- great code editor

what else do u expect from it? Just it doesn’t have a built-in Apache !

Netbeans runs on Linux

Code completion is automatic, once you put the framework folder in the path or just move its directory under /protected folder

:)

regards!

(AFAIK) Notepad++ is not an IDE, but an editor, even with some extra features.

An IDE is much more. To me, besides very powerful code completion and lots of other less important features, the ability to debug your code is very important. Yes, this has a price: Netbeans, and Eclipse even more, are quite slow and resource consuming on your development machine. Yet, I cannot think about developing in anything else. Among the two, Netbeans and Eclipse, I find the former quicker but slightly less featureful/powerful than the latter. I use Netbeans for my PHP development.

Boaz.

To get the framework classes auto completed:

• Go to the projects view in NB (Netbeans).

• Right click on the project -> properties.

• Select "PHP Include path" -> "Add Folder"