Yii Separation Of Client Side And Server Side?

Hello everyone! I’m a new developer to both Yii and the MVC architecture. I have experience with ASP.NET (Web Forms), and I’m working on a small project with a friend. I have a question about the way to develop for Yii and have a total separation of the client side (which my friend will manage with his skills on CSS, JavaScript, HTML, AJAX, etc.), and the server side (which I will do with my skills on databases and server side coding).

I’ve only been working and studying Yii for a bit, so I know it can be annoying to have a newbie asking this when he hasn’t even finished studying, but the truth is that we need to get this done and need to know if Yii will serve our purpose, or we need to switch to another technology, be it because it’s not possible with the way Yii works, or because I need way more experience than what I have right now with the framework.

To illustrate my question, I attached a picture. It’s not exactly pretty but I hope it’s easy to get my point across with it. It will be easy to understand if you have used ASP.NET yourself.

ASP Yii.jpg

I’ll explain the point of it all, again. The important part is the separation of the Server Side code and files from the client side. My partner shouldn’t need to learn to use anything from Yii, and just focus on his JavaScript files and objects, CSS, and HTML, and use them to interact with Yii.