Yii: Generating Pdf Document From Server Response By Streaming Html Into Pdf

I am new to web development and remember from past that a friend of mine once had an implementation in which Server response stream of HTML was stored in a variable and then output as PDF, this was JSP some ages ago. I don’t know how to achieve this in Yii rather bit skeptical if I even remember it right. I have explored TCPDF and can produce the PDF by coding the HTML tags, however, I am looking into the option to stream the output of a URL response in a variable and then use that to generate the PDF. I did the following but it is not working. I receive error at filesize($filename):

$pdf->AddPage();

$filename = 'http://localhost/webapp/index.php/link/to/some/page';

$handle = fopen($filename, "r");

$contents = fread($handle, filesize($filename));

fclose($handle);

$pdf->writeHTML($contents ,true);

I am bit lost on how to achieve this, all the help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Try using Curl. If you are not familiar with it, there is also a yii extension that may facilitate things for you CURL for Yii

I’m not directly answering your post question, but is the page by any chance Yii-controlled? I mean, is it a controller that generates it?

In that case, you should find easier ways. I know that pdf extension has a WriteHTML() method, which you can pass a view rendered by Yii, so maybe TCPDF does the same?