Yii Advice

Hi all,

Although I am familiar with PHP I am quite new to MVC and Yii. I am starting a project that is a data entry application for a property company. The application will enable them to manage all aspects of their data with regards to properties, viewings, enquiries and clients.

I thought this application would be better being built in a framework and after investigating all of the popular ones and decided that Yii would be best for the job.

As I am new to Yii (and this forum) and was wondering if anyone has any advice on using Yii for this project?

Basically the application is to be a data entry system that has no real front end as all management is to be done behind a login. A lot of pages are in principle a large collection of forms that the user fills in and then another user may edit the records at a later date. There are also to be reports, tabular data, file and image uploads. A lot of the functionality is to be linked together such as certain screens may show property, client and viewing data on the same page.

I have already read through a lot of the help docs and tutorials and I have played around with Gii, installed extensions such as Yiibooster and have started creating custom themes and views.

I would really appreciate any advice or help from anyone who has a bit of time to point me in the right direction. I am really liking what Yii can do, I just wish I knew more about using it to its full potential.

Many thanks in advance.

Auren

I think Yii is well placed to manage these types of application. I worked on several types of data ​​management applications and customers have been very satisfied. So do not be afraid and go for it!

Take time to read more on the forum without forgetting the guide on the site.

Good luck.

Yii will probably be a good choice for your application. It’s easy to develop in and is lightweight and fast compared to the more enterprisey frameworks.