writing fancy URL translation rules

good evening everyone,

i admit yii is a good framework but the lack of well written manual can keep it from spreading.

url rules designing in CUrlManger is a fancy that require a lot imagination to master.

now i need my route to work like this:

controller/abc/xyz/123 should be interpreted as controller/actionIndex/?target=/abc/xyz/123

but

controller/create and controller/update should be interpreted as controller/actionCreate and controller/actionUpdate

how should i design the url translation rules?

thank you so much in advance

Not sure how you would solve the first example, I’m still learning myself this myself.

But let’s assume you have an advanced pattern/rule in place, set to solve your first routing. Then to solve the other ‘problem’ it’s really easy.

The URL is parsed through the rules until it comes across the first one that matches. So, it would something like this:

'urlManager'=>array(

'urlFormat'=>'path',

'showScriptName' => false,

'rules'=>array(

'controller/create'=>'controller/create',

'controller/update'=>'controller/update',

'advanced rule'=>'that I dont know how to set',

),

),

That way, when you supply an URL like serverdomain/controller/create it will match the first rule. Second with update, and the more advanced rule down there at third place wont kick in.

Now all you have to do is figure out the advanced rule. Good luck!

Edit:

Ok so I’ve toyed around with this for exercising reasons, and I’ve found one pattern that works like you want. I have no idea why you’d want it set up like that though, I’ll give you that :)

'urlManager'=>array(

'urlFormat'=>'path',

'showScriptName' => false,

'rules'=>array(

'controller/create'=>'controller/create',

'controller/update'=>'controller/update',

'controller/*<target:\/\w+\/\w+\/\d+>'=>'controller/actionIndex',

),

),