Why Yii over Zend?

Ok… not trying to start a war.  I really want to know business reasons of why I should go with Yii over Zend or whatever the 2nd largest PHP Framework is?

Note: I am new at PHP Frameworks so bear with me…

• Let's ignore speed as a reason.

• Let's give some concrete reasons why Yii is better?

• I hear there are a massive amount of support libraries for Zend… Does Yii have equivalent libraries so if one chose Yii they do not start out way behind the eight ball

• I know Yii is new in comparison to Zend (and some others) so would it be fair to say that Yii is lacking a lot that the others have and may not achieve the same things without another year of waiting for it?

Let me also say… if you don't have real experience between the two frameworks then please don't give an opinion based on marketing info or just thoughts.  I want to hear form those that have lived and breathed Zend or other major framework player and who have experienced enough of Yii to have an educated opinion supported reasons for your opinion.

Thanks you for your time!

I suppose there is no, or at least shouldn’t be, any business reason. It is all about preference, personal taste.

You asked us not to include benchmark difference, although that is a really important aspect when it comes to comparisons.

Zend Framework is generally said to be a library, a bunch of useful classes, not a traditional framework. I truly tried to rely on ZF by reading reference guide from cover to cover, looking for working examples, even by reading source code. What is my final conclusion? Zend Framework is a big mass of engineery code. It is intended to be perfect in terms of programming habits… but in the end, it doesn’t cut it.