Where to add code that will execure for all models

Hi All,

I am newbie here, so not sure if this is basic question.

I have one database, where in all tables i have placed createdDate, updatedDate, createdIp, updatedIp fields.

Using CRUD i have generated all admin pages. Now above 4 fields are common in all models.Whenever admin add/edit any record these 4 field should be automatically added/updated. I don’t want to set it’s value in all pages.

Where can i add such code to auto capture these 4 values?

Please guide.

Thanks,

Vibha.

if you use an CActiveRecord for the model class then you can set the values of this fields in the inbuilt event methods beforeSave() or afterValidat()

alternatively create a class that extends CActiveRecord (place it in the components directory, IMHO) while all Model classes will extend from your custom class

and override this methods i mentioned above

or have a look at this article

cheers.

If you want to reuse this "auto set dates" feature also in other projects (but also if not ) I would suggest to use the CTimeStampBehavior.

Thanks both for your reply.

@binkabir: I have gone through the article and see how to use beforeSave() function. Now i need to write beforeSave function for all models. How can i write one common function among all models? I think i can do this by what you said:

[i]alternatively create a class that extends CActiveRecord (place it in the components directory, IMHO) while all Model classes will extend from your custom class

and override this methods i mentioned above[/i]

I have created AutoFillColumn.php file under component folder:

<?php

class AutoFillColumn extends CActiveRecord

{

private $_model=null;

public function beforeSave()

{

$_model->createdDate = new CDbExpression('NOW()');	 

return parent::beforeSave();

}

}

?>

Added it in config file:

'autoFill'=>array('class'=>'AutoFillColumn'),

Now what other change i need to do to auto update all "createdDate" field?