Unique Validation Not Working On Actionupdate

I’m pretty new to Yii, I’ve been working on it for about a week now so this issue is most likely something I’m missing, but it’s driving me crazy.

I’ve got a Unique validator on an email attribute in a User model.

public function rules()

{

return array(

array('email', 'required', 'on'=>'login, register, update'),

array('email','email'),

array('email', 'unique'),

);

}

This works great on my Register Action, but it doesn’t work on an Update Action and I get a MySql Exception:

CDbCommand failed to execute the SQL statement: SQLSTATE[23000]: Integrity constraint violation: 1062 Duplicate entry 'email@gmail.com' for key 'email_UNIQUE'. 

The client side validation for the email validation works on login, register, and update.

Any help is appreciated. I can post more relevant code if needed.

Thanks!

Have you already read this?

http://www.yiiframework.com/forum/index.php/topic/26057-how-to-validate-unique-field-on-client-side/

Hey Fabrizio,

Yes I have read that. Very similar symptoms actually. Ajax was working for validators like ‘email’->‘email’ and length, etc. , but not the unique validator.

I have found the problem though! …and it’s entirely my fault.

So what I had done previously was set up a DefaultScope like the following:

public function defaultScope()

{

if (!Yii::app()->user->isGuest && !Yii::app()->user->admin) {

$condition = '(userID='.Yii::app()->user->id . ')';

return array(

'condition'=>$condition,      

);

}   

else{

return array(

'condition'=>'',        

);

}      

}

This was so that if a normal user would try to access the view/update page of another user they would get a 404 instead, but this was causing the issue because the logged in user could not select any other rows from the User table to check the unique constraint. If I log in as an "admin" then the unique validation works.