Translating Site Based On User Preferences / At A User Level

I am fairly new to php and Yii. I wanted to put something I did to deal with issues we had in translating our site. I found that there was quite a bit of documentation on the messing and how to actually set up the translations themselves, but not much that I could find on actually setting up the switching of languages.

I wanted to know if what I did makes sense, or if there is a better way to do this that I missed somewhere.

Since the translation method by default uses the app level language setting, this causes problems in some cases. Most of the posts suggested editing the language using Yii::app()->setLanguage($lang); and putting the code in the init() method of the CController class. We initially tried this, by adding a method to the Profiles.php called getLanguage() and calling Yii::app()->setLanguage(Yii::app()->getModule(‘user’)->user()->profile->getLanguage()); in the init.

The problem with this was that this was changing the language at the app level, and not at the user level. I was concerned that this would cause issues because if two (or more) users were using the application at the same time and selected different languages, the value may be swapped while the request was in progress, and it wouldn’t display the language correctly for each user. The problem that actually manifested itself was that any user who was going through our registration process (not logged in or having a session) was getting their language switched if any other user switched. The code above allowed us to store the language in session, or in the user’s profile.

In order to make the translation work at the user level, the following changes were made to the yii::t method.

public static function t($category,$message,$params=array(),$source=null,$language=null)

{

/*

* Ian Coughlin: Adding functionality to pull language from session if available

*/

if ($language==null){