Structuring My Application

I have an existing application (American Football Results Picking Competition) (its on github under my akc42 account called MBBall, but since this is my first post I can’t embed a link to it). Its been in operation for about 4 years on a yearly basis.

As part of a between season revamp, and as a way of trialing the yii framework, I have just started to look at how I might implement it using Yii. I AM BRAND NEW TO YII, although I have been through lots of vidoe tutorials and read the guide cover to cover, I have yet to do any actual coding. I am now planing my attack on the application

It basically consists of just two pages. The first is the general participants page and allows them to pick results, and see their current progress in the competition. This consists of 6 major sections, two of these are optional input sections, the remainder are complicated query results sections for parts of the competition. There is a little bit of Javascript/backend PHP to support the input section.

The second is the administrators panel, which is more or less loaded piece by piece by the javascript (Mootools based). Each panel is loaded and reloaded dynamically (ie the Ajax request contains the new html to be included within the page) with changes the administrator makes, and within each panel the data can be changed dynamically by the javascript application (and sends data back to backend scripts to update the database).

I use a mini templating system to effectively surround the pages with the header, menu and footer.

I would like some advice (for now) about the first of these two pages. I am quite confused about how I should be splitting these 6 sections up into elements. Ideally, each element should have its own model and associated view, controlled by a single controller. But each view seems to get surrounded by the layout, whereas I would want the layout over the whole lot.