Show City Name In Combo Box

Hi Guys,

I am new in yii. I have city name and value in tbl_city and I want to show city comb box on add user page so that user can choose city and submit. After this i have to save city value in database and on edit user page i have to show city combo and select the city value by default on the basis of city id which is store in table. same i have to show on search section and view section.

Looking forward for response.

Quick response: use giix :)

Please reply on my query…

I’m serious, it can help you by generating the views.

Otherwise, you can do it manually with CActiveForm::dropDownList.

You can use CHtml::listData() method.

http://www.yiiframework.com/doc/api/1.1/CHtml#listData-detail

If you want to use a dropDownList in your form:

$form = $this->beginWidget('CActiveForm', ... );

echo $form->label($model,'city_id');

$cityOptions = CHtml::listData(City::model()->findAll(), 'id', 'name');

echo $form->dropDownList($model, 'city_id', $cityOpitons, array('prompt' => 'Select your city'));

CHtml::listData() returns an array of value-label pairs. It serves quite well when used in a CActiveForm::dropDownList to generate a list of options.

And when you use CActiveForm::dropDownList, the initial selection of the dropDownList is automatically set according to your model … It should show ‘Select your city’ when you are creating a new model instance, and should show the name of the selected city when you are updating the existing one.

Well, giix should do some kind of magic and automatically generate a form code that is almost similar to the example above … I’m not very sure because I’m not familiar with it. You may try it, it’s one of the most favored extensions.

But I think it’s not too bad to do it manually, especially when you are not accustomed to the concept of relational active record.

Actually this funtion is define in class.

public function dropDownList($model,$attribute,$data,$htmlOptions=array())

{