Setup existing yii project to work on localhost

Hi all,

I’m completely new to yii so please pardon my lack of knowledge and information.

I’m practicing web development and I got access to a friend’s website. I wanted to play with it on my localhost (using XAMPP on Windows) and found out that it uses yii. When I try to run index.php, I’m getting a page that just says:

CDbException

CDbConnection failed to open the DB connection.

I think that (obviously) I have to set up the existing database of the website. I’ve done a bit of searching but I’m confused and struggling with where to start. Is there any guide that I can follow to fix the issue? I just want to get it running first.

Thanks everyone.

Hi @mikepham, welcome to the forum.

I have some questions before I start. Would you please answer them?

1. Do you have full access to the source code of the site of your friend?
  2. Do you want to learn Yii 2.0 or Yii 1.1?

'CDbConnection` is a component of Yii framework 1.1. So the site of your friend is running on Yii 1.1. If you are new to Yii and want to learn it, I would rather recommend you start learning Yii 2.0 from scratch following the definitive guide. https://www.yiiframework.com/doc/guide/2.0/en

As for the current problem, you could check the source code. See config\main.php file for the configuration of db component. It should be something like:

'components' => array(
        'db' => array(
            'connectionString' => 'mysql:host=localhost;dbname=xxxx',
            'emulatePrepare' => true,
            'username' => 'xxxx',
            'password' => 'xxxx',
            'charset' => 'utf8',
            'schemaCachingDuration' => 60 * 60 * 24 * 30,
        ),

You have to create a db connection according to the information provided there.

Hi softark,

Thank you for your response.
As for the questions,

1. Yes I do