Select Existing Relationship OR Create New Related Record

I’m new to Yii, so please forgive any fundamental lack of understanding I might have.

Using a single form, I want to be able to:

a] Select an existing relationship (by primary key)

OR

b] Create a new related record

…with both models being properly validated and saved easily.

For example, if I have a form to create an ‘item’ and items can have a ‘type’, I want to be able to select an existing type OR create a new type on the fly within the same form.

I have followed the Wiki on working with multiple models as a start:

http://www.yiiframework.com/wiki/19/how-to-use-a-single-form-to-collect-data-for-two-or-more-models/

But if I select an existing ‘type’ (by dropdownlist), then validation for the type model fails because no new type name is provided (by textfield) for the type model. If I enter a new ‘type’, then validation for ‘item’ fails because no typeid is provided for the item model.

My hack was to set type name = ‘placeholder’ or typeid = -1 simply to pass validation for each scenario. Then to save the user input, I had to write quite a bit of code to determine if each of these inputs were new or existing and handle the database interaction accordingly.

I felt like what I was doing was terrible practice and a lot of work for what seems to be a fairly common situation. Does anyone have a clean/simple/elegant best-practice approach for allowing EITHER [select an existing related record] OR [create a new related record] that validates and saves nicely?

Thanks so much.

in your model you can check if you are inserting a new record with

if($this->isNewRecord)

What is your validation rule for the drop down and what are the options for the drop down?

Thanks for your reply, bettor.

Suppose a simple table structure like this:

type

----

id*

name*

item

----

id*

typeid*

name*

And a form like this:

simpleform.gif