Security Measures On Web App Deployment

Hey Guys,

So this is my first time deploying a Yii web app and I’m also a bit new to web developing. Maybe you guys can help me out with a security checklist for Yii web apps. Lary Ulman’s the yii book talks about security and secure practices but it doesn’t really have a section on web app security itself and especially on going live. The ebook covers a wide range of topic and it’s hard to keep track of the security measures to employ. I haven’t seen any comprehensive security thread here either.

Anyway, I have this CRM program that I’ve developed for an online business and I’m very concerned with it’s security. Although I have done all the basic secure practices, I’m not sure if it’s good enough or if I missed anything. A checklist for going live would really be helpful on this project and all future Yii web apps I’ll be building.

Getting a bit more specific, here are the security measures I’ve employed:

[indent]

• Programming practices for avoiding SQL injections, XSS attacks

• Proper password storage using bcrypt

• Set configuration files to live

• Made sure to use https on all pages

• Yii’s user access control

[/indent]

And here are some of my concerns:

[indent]

• Can my app’s communication to the database server be listened on?

• Should I have the program hosted on it’s own account or is it okay to have it with other websites in a single account but different domain names?

• Is it okay to have it in a shared hosting account?

• Hosting server configurations?

[/indent]

I guess what I’m more concerned with this project is security against outside attacks, but your input doesn’t have to address the specifics I included here, having that checklist would be enough and I’d look into each one on the list if I have it in place.

Thanks in advance,

Caleb

Have you enabled CSRF protection too?