Saving The Value Of An Array Instead Of Its Index No.

I have implemented a dependent dropdown in my yii app. It works out fine, but what I want is instead of showing the index no. of an array, I want to show its actual value. Just need a suggestion because I am really a newbie here. Thank you.

This is my view forms:

<div class="row">

<?php echo $form->labelEx($model, 'class_id'); ?>

<?php

$category = CHtml::listData(Category::model()->findAll(array('order' => 'id')), 'id', 'category_name');

echo $form->dropDownList($model, 'category_id',  

$category, array(

'prompt' => '',

'ajax' => array(

'type' => 'POST',

'url' => CController::createUrl('PurchaseRequest/classifications'),

'update' => '#'.Chtml::activeId($model,'class_id'),

)

));

?>

<?php echo $form->dropDownList($model, 'class_id', array(), array('style' => 'width:414px;')); ?>

<?php echo $form->error($model, 'class_id'); ?>

</div>

And this is my controller:

public function actionClassifications() {

$classification = Classification::model()->findAll('category_id=:category_id', array(':category_id' => (int) $_POST['PurchaseRequest']['category_id']));

$return = CHtml::listData($classification, 'id', 'class_name');

foreach ($return as $classificationId => $classificationName) {

echo CHtml::tag('option', array('value' => $classificationId), CHtml::encode($classificationName), true);

}

}

Are you referring to the array passed to dropdown?

$category = CHtml::listData(Category::model()->findAll(array('order' => 'id')), 'id', 'category_name');

if you want the display and value to be the same you can do it like this:

$category = CHtml::listData(Category::model()->findAll(array('order' => 'id')), 'id', 'id');

or

$category = CHtml::listData(Category::model()->findAll(array('order' => 'id')), 'category_name', 'category_name');

Thank you for your answer. Ahm, what I really want is that it should save into db the value of the index instead of the index no. itself.