Return specific user-created data

I created a crud and am using the webvimark / user-management extension to manage user creation and permissions. I would like to display only the data created by the users that is currently logged in, that is, that each user only has access to the data entered by himself. I thank you all.

Hi @rafawrm,

You need to use RBAC (Role Based Access Control) in order to do that.

Guide > Security > Autorization > RBAC

Specifically Using Rules section describes how to restrict access based on the ownership of the data.

And for listing data, you can set a filter using some attribute that represents the owner of the data. This won’t require RBAC.

I’m a beginner and would like to know if there are any examples (template or extension) of a CRUD implemented using these rules. Thank you very much for your attention.

I don’t know what “webvimark/user-management” extension does, so I can’t give you a working example using it. So I can only give you some general examples and hints.

public function actionIndex()
    {
        $searchModel = new ItemSearch();
        if (!Yii::$app->user->can('item.manage')) {
            $searchModel->created_by = Yii::$app->user->id;
        }
        $dataProvider = $searchModel->search(Yii::$app->request->queryParams);

return $this->render('index', [
            'searchModel' => $searchModel,
            'dataProvider' => $dataProvider,
        ]);
    }

In the above, we set the user’s id to the created_by attribute of the search model, if the user has no “item.manage” permission. Then a user with “item.manage” permission will see all the items, while an ordinary user can see only the items created by himself, because “search” method will filter the items by “created_by” attribute.

And this is a typical actionView:

public function actionView($id)
    {
        $model = $this->findModel($id);

if (!Yii::$app->user->can('item.view', ['id' => $model->created_by] )) {