Removing everything out of the web root which doesn't need to be served by a httpd server?

Hi,

my name is Juergen, I am an experienced web developer and got interested in Yii after getting up to date on new frameworks. I have experience and made projects with Code Ignitor, PRADO, Zend Framework, Wordpress, etc. Plus I maintain my very own simple PHP framework for some of my own sites.

Just recently I finished a very huge project with the Zend Framework and - since I managed a team of 10 developers - it really helped to be disciplined and work on a well structured "frame". However, the speed of ZF is lousy. After this was done, I developed one of my own sites for a change in pure PHP and get fantastic speed out of it, but its not very extensible and has already too many hacks, which only I understand. My next project is coming up and there might be more programmer added later, so I might want to use YII for it.

Anyway, I have a very simple question: Why does the default installation put stuff into the web root, which doesn’t really get served by the httpd server? It seems to be common these days, the totally insecure Wordpress installation dumps basically everything inside the web root (htdocs usually), then “protects” it with a .htaccess file.

My usual strategy is to place files similar like this:

/WEB/htdocs/index.php                             <- The front controller

/css/                                  <- Static CSS files

/js/                                   <- Static JavaScript files

/images/                               <- Static image files

/whatever-needs-to-be-served-by-httpd/ <- Static whatever files

/WEB/framework/                                   <- The framework or libraries totally separated

/WEB/application/                                 <- All application files