recursive query

Hello yii users.

I am very new in using yii, so please be patient with me.

My question is: is there a built in implementation for recursive queries, or should i try to implement it on the sql level?

I am building a database in wich objects have parent-child relations. There is a small mock table containing 3 relations:

+----------+---------+

|  Parent  |  Child  |

+----------+---------+

|  TEST1   |  TEST2  |

|  TEST1   |  TEST3  |

|  TEST2   |  TEST4  |

+----------+---------+

The obvious result is want to see: if i search for object is child relation with TEST1, i want to see, that also TEST2 has a child object TEST4.

I appreciate your help!

(sorry for my bad english)

There is nothing of prebuild, you should implement on your own.

Try this extension.

Thanks for the info!

I started the implementation, and the recursive search is practicly ready. I have one problem though. Each recursive step is a new query with a new CActiveDataProvider. How can i collect the data from multiple dataproviders, to give over to, let’s say the CListView widget? My searches so far point to the conclusion, that there is no way to “merge” dataproviders.

As a possible solution, you can implement a custom RecursiveDataProvider class and delegate the job of running recursive queries to this class.

I am sure it is my lack of experience, but i don’t really get your advice. Mabe my post wasnt clear enough. Here is a bit of my code:

public function actionRecQuery($dataProvider)

{

$temp=$dataProvider->getData();

$i=0;

while($temp[$i]['childName']){

$condition='parentName='.'"'.$temp[$i]['childName'].'"';

$dataProvider=new CActiveDataProvider('ViewDepC',array('criteria'=>array('condition'=>$condition,),));

$i++;

$this->actionRecQuery($dataProvider);

}

}