ReactJS and AngularJS 2.0 in the Yii 2.0 view as components

Dear All,

I am eager to keep up with the new technology. I see that AngularJS 2.0 and ReactJS as the leading technologies for front end. While yii 2.0 is my favorite framework.

I ever asked whether Angular JS 2.0 as component in the view of Yii 2.0 is such a best practice? Someone mentioned that it was not. Used yii 2.0 as rest provider and back end and Angular JS 2.0 as the front end.

FYI, I am new to yii 2.0, angular js and reactjs. I just have some experiences with yii 1.1.

My understanding so far is Angular JS 2.0 and ReactJS are kind of component or a page built using AngularJS 2.0 or ReactJS is actually a list of components inside components. They still need bootstrap, foundation or other similar theme frameworks.

Hence, I am thinking why we cannot use them inside Yii 2.0 view? Yii 2.0 provides bootstrap by default.

I do apologise if I have wrong understanding. That is why I am asking in this forum to get better understanding of them.

If it can be a best practice, can anyone suggest which one is better ReactJS or Angular JS in term of using it with yii 2.0? I believe ReactJS and Angular JS both are very good frameworks.

Thank you in advance for helping me.

Daniel

You can use Angular inside Yii view. The thing is that usually these are used for applications, not websites i.e. you have application loaded once and then it works via AJAX with REST backend made with Yii so Yii is not participating in rendering HTML at all.

It doesn’t really matter if Angular or React are chosen. Yii’s job in both cases is to provide data via REST API.

Nope, it’s just part of default project templates. Framework itself doesn’t provide it by default. It’s a separate official extension.

Hi samdark,

Thanks for the prompt reply.

Yes, I am talking about using yii2 as web application.

Do you think it is overkill to use yii2 and reactjs/angular?