RBAC help needed

Hi I’m creating a simple CMS, that some day will be more complex I hope, and I am struggling to understand RBAC on Yii2.

I read the documentation and the guide but I need some more examples of the implementation of RBAC(with database) so that I can understand how it works. do you guys know any good tutorial or code examples so that I can try to follow?

and one more thing using the code on the examples,

// add "createPost" permission

$createPost = $auth->createPermission('createPost');

$createPost->description = 'Create a post';

$auth->add($createPost);

can the name of the permission be anything or it must be the action name?

Note that I am using the basic template, I hope that is not a bad idea, also I’m Fairly new to Yii2 and to frameworks in general,

thanks in advance :)

The name of an RBAC permission can be anything.

Once you have created the permissions and assigned them to Roles and assigned one or more Roles to Users, you can use the names of those Roles in the behaviors function that returns the [‘access’]['rules][‘roles’] array. (see yii\filters\AccessControl)

or you can call this boolean method to check if the user has a permission:

\Yii::$app->user->can('name of a permission');

How far have you gotten in the process? Is the authmanager prepared? Do you have roles assigned? Are the rules assigned but not working? Please elaborate.

Me also have the problem.If any detailed example will help us :)

Best Regards

I have the auth manager prepared, the database has the 4 tables required, I didn’t create roles because I don’t know where do I do it…

I need to see the file structure to understand where to add what…

I mean, here we can see that there is a new class that extends rules but do we store it?

one more thing these are not static right I can change the roles of the users in the database right?

As I said if there was a simple example for me to follow that would be great, sometimes that is all that I need :P