Problem assigning a safe attibutes

I’m a bit of a noob to the framework so forgive me if I am doing something fundamentally wrong, anyway I have been trying to set this attribute but it won’t set unless I do some hacky stuff. Anyway in my FinanccialReturnController I do this.

public function actionCreate()

{

$model = new FinancialReturn;

if( Yii::app()->request->isPostRequest )

{

$model->setAttributes( $_POST ,true );

$this->_processModel( $model , $_POST );

}

I have an attribute called financial_year_end that I want saved to the DB but it’s not being set. To get to the heart of the matter I went into the CModel code and added some log entries in setAttributes

public function setAttributes($values,$safeOnly=true)

{

if(!is_array($values))

return;

$attributes=array_flip($safeOnly ? $this->getSafeAttributeNames() : $this->attributeNames());

foreach($values as $name=>$value)

{		

if(isset($attributes[$name]))

{

Yii::log("BEFORE: $name=$value ");

$this->$name=$value;

Yii::log("AFTER: $name=".$this->$name);

}

else if($safeOnly)

$this->onUnsafeAttribute($name,$value);

}

}

And it reports in the log

BEFORE: financial_year_end=1143806400

AFTER: financial_year_end=

my rules in the FinancialReturn model are

public function rules()

{

// NOTE: you should only define rules for those attributes that

// will receive user inputs.

return array_merge(array(

array('financial_year_end', 'required'),

// The following rule is used by search().

// Please remove those attributes that should not be searched.

array('financial_year_end', 'safe'),

array('id', 'safe', 'on'=>'search'),

),parent::rules());

}

Anyway I’m pretty confused as to why financial_year_end is not getting set, any help would be very much appreciated:)