Portfolio Application Structure

Hi,

I am new to Yii and PHP in general. I am trying to put together a portfolio app and I have read a lot of topics about uploading images and storing the path, working with multiple models in the same form so I think I have a lot of what I require to get started. There is only one thing I am left wondering about though:

I have the following structure (unfortunately I can’t upload an image):

tbl_portfolio_image_type (three entries; Headline, Main and Gallery)

id:int, name:text

tbl_portfolio_category

id:int, name:text

tbl_portfolio_image

id:int, portfolio_image_type_id:int, path:text, portfolio_item_id:int

tbl_portfolio_item

id:int, category_id:int, title:text, headline:text, body:longtext

A portfolio item has one category.

A portfolio item has many portfolio image.

A portfolio image has one portfolio image type.

A portfolio image has one portfolio item.

I have generated the basic Yii code using Gii and I have the relations set up as follows:

// PortfolioItem Model

public function relations()

{

// NOTE: you may need to adjust the relation name and the related

// class name for the relations automatically generated below.

return array(

'portfolioImages' => array(self::HAS_MANY, 'PortfolioImage', 'portfolio_item_id'),

'category' => array(self::BELONGS_TO, 'PortfolioCategory', 'category_id'),

);

}

// PortfolioImage Model

public function relations()

{

// NOTE: you may need to adjust the relation name and the related

// class name for the relations automatically generated below.

return array(

'portfolioImageType' => array(self::BELONGS_TO, 'PortfolioImageType', 'portfolio_image_type'),

'portfolioItem' => array(self::BELONGS_TO, 'PortfolioItem', 'portfolio_item_id'),

);

}

I would like this whole structure to be populated from the PortfolioItem form but with the following rules:

A PortfolioItem has to have one PortfolioImage that is of type "Headline" (fixed control on form)