Nested Set Model Queries

I’m designing a system where we will have three category levels. I’ve been reading about how to store and retrieve hierarchical data in MySQL but now I’m starting to wonder if this will be difficult to do using Yii as I plan to do. I’m new to Yii and still messing with my table designs at this point. I’m really not even building anything in Yii at the moment since I’m setting up the tables and fields and creating a backend data entry/administration database in MS Access.

My first question, is there some way that Yii is already designed to handle hierarchical category systems with 3 or 4 levels?

I’m going to post some example queries using my current design. I’m wondering if retrieving data using these queries and displaying it in my views will be mostly a manual process? What part of this will the Yii framework do for me? Any documentation or examples about using you’re own queries and writing your own views to format and display the resulting data?

Select All Products in a Given CategoryID:

SELECT DISTINCT product.pname

FROM product INNER JOIN cat_product ON product.product_id = cat_product.product_id

WHERE (((cat_product.category_id) In (9,7)));

Select all Products in a Given Category Name:

SELECT DISTINCT product.pname

FROM (product INNER JOIN cat_product ON product.product_id = cat_product.product_id) INNER JOIN nested_category ON cat_product.category_id = nested_category.category_id

WHERE (((nested_category.cname) In ('CD Players','MP3 Players')));

Get Count of Products in Each Category/SubCategory:

SELECT parent.cname, Count(product.pname) AS CountOfpname

FROM nested_category AS parent, (cat_product INNER JOIN product ON cat_product.product_id = product.product_id) INNER JOIN nested_category AS node ON cat_product.category_id = node.category_id

WHERE (((node.lft) Between [parent].[lft] And [parent].[rgt]) AND ((node.category_id)=[cat_product].[category_id]))

GROUP BY parent.cname

ORDER BY Count(product.pname) DESC;