Need the difference between frontend,common & backend modules?

Hi, i am new to yii2 ,

can some one explain me what is exact difference between frontend,backend and common modules.

how they differ?

Thank you :rolleyes:

The way I see it is

frontend - is your website/application that the public will view

common - is for things that the backend and frontend share such as models

backend - isn’t essential however it could for example be used for CMS so backend is like wordpress admin if you were to build a CMS

Here explains everything in more detail:

Yii2 Documentation

hi thanks for the answer,

but i still didn’t get it, i have created some Mvc’s in backend and also in frontend. And i can access both the controlles from browser :huh: , how exactly they differ ?

1 Like

They don’t differ…

How much they differ depends on how much you make them different. ;)

Lets say you want to code some kind of blog system…

With Articles, Categories, Comments etc etc.

Frontend users should only be able to write comments.

Backend users should be able to create, edit, delete articles and categories… and should be allowed to approve comments.

Now you can seperate the "Admin-Code" from the "User-code".

Means:

In Frontend you only write code to display your blog and to write comments.

In Backend you would build the code to create / manage the blog and comments…

This is all a CAN no MUST.

You can also write everything in frontend or only in backend…

But that would make advanced templates pretty much like the basic one. :)

Hope it is more clear?

Regards

In my understanding, they are just how we organize things. Some applications don’t need to separate between front end and back end. You can just put everything as one module (like basic template). Then, you can limit the user access and layout by defining roles.