Need help with a new Application's structure

Hi everyone!

I’m very new to Yii but I think it’s a really great framework. I followed most of the tutorials and now I want to start my own application and I need your help.

The structure of my website will be:

Category1 (type=articles)

-Sub-category 1-1

–Sub-sub-category1

—Article 1

—Article 2

—Article 3

-Sub-category 1-2

–Sub-sub-category1

—Article 1

Category2 (type=news&events)

-Sub-category 1

–Sub-sub-category 1

—News1

—News2

—News3

-Sub-category 2

What I want to achieve:

1. On the category view to retrieve all sub-categories and recursively sub-sub-categories

2. On the sub-sub-categories to list all the articles/ news with links to a full article/ news

Should I create a different controller for each category type, or have a "type" field in the category table?

>>tbl_category

-id

-name

-type (ex: articles, news)

-description

I’d really appreciate your help!

Roadie

If I’m not mistaken, for this purpose definitely there should be one controller (for controlling all menu related operations) and whole menu structure (no matter how complicated) should be generated dynamically.

I would advice you to start from Yii Cookbook article titled "Creating a database-driven hierarchical Structure combined with CMenu and superfish", where this problem is quite nicely and clearly explained.

Hi there,

There a few ways to do it but I won’t mix articles and news on the same table even if they are more or less the same. Just for the sake of portability afterwards. Create a Articles and a News (model/controller/view) and let them have their own table.

Then have another one Category which I would:

id <------------.

name |

parent_id <–.