mysql spatial view create update

hi,

I’m a yii newbie, and fighting with spatial data in table under yii. I have table

CREATE TABLE `locations` (

`id` int(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,

`name` varchar(20) NOT NULL,

`position` point NOT NULL,

`radius` int(11) NOT NULL,

PRIMARY KEY (`id`)

) ENGINE=InnoDB AUTO_INCREMENT=1 DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8;

normal view method was not able to view date and thrown exception, I’ve done it in this way

public function beforeFind()

{

$criteria = new CDbCriteria;

$criteria->select = "id,name, astext(position) AS position, radius";

$this->dbCriteria->mergeWith($criteria);

}

I hope it’s quite correct with yii philosophy, but generally works and for example under gridview in column position I receive strings with geoms from table. In this case points like POINT(xx.xxx yy.yyy). For me it’s ok.

I have problem with create and update record. I’ve tried beforeSave with string modification to GeomFromText(‘POINT(xx.xxx yy.yyy)’) but without success. Every time I receive

CDbCommand failed to execute the SQL statement: SQLSTATE[22003]: Numeric value out of range: 1416 Cannot get geometry object from data you send to the GEOMETRY field. The SQL statement executed was: INSERT INTO `locations` (`name`, `position`, `radius`) VALUES (:yp0, :yp1, :yp2)

any helpfull hand with solution?

Hi smiodus,

I’m curious if you ever found a solution to doing an insert with the point data type? I’m just starting a Yii-based project and have some tables with point data type columns, so I’m anticipating running into the same issue.

Any additional insights you can provide on your experience working with spatial data in Yii would be much appreciated as well!

Have you tried using a CDbExpression for this?

You could override beforeSave in your model and set the attribute with the point-field to

new CDbExpression('POINT(:lat :lon)', array('lat' => 0, 'lon' => 0))