Module Structure In Yii Application

Hi,

My site got three section 1> Buyer 2> Seller 3> Admin. To implement these section using yii what would be the best structure to develop this site? As i am new in yii, should i go with module? Does this module architecture follow HMVC? Can you please guide me.

Thanks

Kapur

It sounds like the Yii 2 advanced application template might be a suitable starting point. Note that Yii 2 is in beta though.

Thanks Keith for your quick reply. With version of yii 1.4, wouldnot it be possible?

Admin is usually a module. As for the Buyer/Seller? They could just be separate controllers. There would be considerations if buyer/seller use the same models, and how different the model interactions are.

If they can use the same models, then separate controllers is good enough. If MAJOR differences in the model uses then separate models might be called for.

p.s. What’s the H in the above HMVC mean?

Thanks jkofsky,

HMVC stands for 'Hierarchical Model View Controller', that CodeIgniter applications does follow very well. In my application i have 3 sections means seller, buyer, admin and each of them has their own sub-ordinate modules like seller has product, login. Buyer has account, login. Admin has login, RBAC, product, category etc. So, i think we have to go for nested module structure. But i am not sure as i have no work experience in yii framework.

I can see how you could do this 3 controllers (site,seller,buyer) and an admin module (maybe RBAC Module). Since you mentioned that admin would have RBAC, all logins could/would use that. You could have a column in the user table that indicates user is seller/buyer, or if user could be both than some way of setting what they are at this moment.