Merge Two Or More Columns In Gridview

Hi,

I have tried to merge two columns for Gridview using examples from yii 1.1, which doesn’t work.

I am getting the error like getting unknown property.

I have created a function in Model like:

public static function getFull_Name()

{

return $this->first_name . ' ' . $this->last_name;

}

I have also created a public property in the Model class like:

public $Full_name

and for gridview:

['label'=>'Name',

'value'=>'$data->getFull_Name()',                      

],

I am very new to Yii or Yii2.

My impression of Yii2 is that it is very powerful framework.

Having said that it is very difficult for a person, who has not enough experience in using PHP framework.

Reason:

[list=1]

[*]Even the most used functions are not presented with example syntax, even though there is a exhaustive documentation.

[*]This is third instance I got stuck for seemingly trivial issue.

[*]I feel that a small application using the basic functions should be there as a demo, so that for most people it will be a pleasing experience and avoid frustration and start looking somewhere else as if the learning curve for Yii is very stiff.

[*]Though I think that in fact it is not. The reason is there is so much documentation for the experts, but there is too little for the average users and that is evident from the fact from the type of questions in the forum.

[/list]

I am not complaining but stating what I feel and communicating what impression what I got initially.

Syntax in yii2 is different. You must use it like this:

[

'label'=>'Full_name',

'value'=>function($data) {

return $data->full_Name;

}                      

],

Thank you so much. That works fine.

But where are those syntax mentioned? Where I can refer them?

Again why is it full_Name and not Full_Name, whereas I have created the function getFull_Name.

Any way thanks again.