Many Many, Relations, specify columns to select

Hi all,

Newbie here.

I have three tables: tbl_facility, tbl_type, tbl_facility_type, you can tell that Facility and Type is many to many relation. tbl_facility_type has only two columns (type_id, facility_id), which makes the composite PK.

In model Facility, relations:

‘types’=>array(self::MANY_MANY, ‘Type’, ‘tbl_facility_type(facility_id, type_id)’),

In model Type, relations:

‘facilities’=>array(self::MANY_MANY, ‘Facility’, ‘tbl_facility_type(type_id,facility_id)’),

Now, I am trying to write an API that query certain[offset: 0, limit=10] facilities: Each facility has (type_id=1) as one of its Types. And, during the query, I only want to select tbl_facility.id, tbl_facility.name.

Here is the code I am working on:

$type=Type::model()->findByPk($_GET[‘type’]);

$models=$type->facilities(array(

'offset'=>$_GET['offset'],

'limit'=>$_GET['limit'],

'select'=>array('id', 'name'),

));

It does not work. Could anyone point me to the right direction? Thanks a lot.

SELECT facilities.id AS t1_c0, facilities.name AS t1_c3 FROM tbl_facility facilities INNER JOIN tbl_facility_type facilities_facilities ON (facilities_facilities.type_id=:ypl0) AND (facilities.id=facilities_facilities.facility_id) LIMIT 10

I YiiLoged the sql statement, and run it in phpMyAdmin, it does select the columns I wanted. But the API class has all the columns returned…

Really confusing.

Hi CullenSUN, welcome to the forum.

Do you mean that ‘offset’ and ‘limit’ don’t work? Or is the problem only with ‘select’?

And what about the other fields than ‘id’ and ‘name’? Do they have values retrieved from db?

You would be interested in this "tip" from the guide:

http://www.yiiframework.com/doc/guide/1.1/en/database.ar#creating-record

Thanks, for your reply.

They yii style code do give me all the rows. Offset and Limit both work ok, but the select is not functioning.

The fetched results has all the columns of the tbl_facility.