MANY:MANY model, view, controller

I am just learning yii (actually I am an older ‘procedural style’ programmer-now-student doing this outside of class … my first framework experience and my first oop experience not to mention this CMV thing, so please bare with me) and jumped straight into a self::MANY_MANY situation. Three tables with unique id’s and two junction tables as follows (home grown notation):

foods 1:M birdsfood M:1 birds 1:M birdshabitat M:1 habitat

FROM …\protected\models\birds.php

public function relations()

{

return array(

'habitat' => array(self::MANY_MANY, 'Habitat','BirdsHabitat(birdid, habitatid)'),

'food' => array(self::MANY_MANY, 'Food', 'BirdsFood(birdID, foodID)'),	

);

}

This works beautifully (I think)… I redefined the junction tables so their foreign key field names matched their relational table key field names. Not sure, but think the FK’s got yii confused. Turned on the log thing (in protected\config\main.php to check out the select statement yii was creating. Openned up a mysql client session, cut and pasted the yii created query to test it. To be honest, I didn’t believe it would work because it includes something I don’t understand - perhaps someone could explain the habitat_habitat thing below:

Querying SQL: SELECT `habitat`.`habitatID` AS `t1_c0`, `habitat`.`habitat`

AS `t1_c1` FROM `habitat` `habitat`  INNER JOIN `BirdsHabitat`

`habitat_habitat` ON (`habitat_habitat`.`birdid`=:ypl0) AND

(`habitat`.`habitatID`=`habitat_habitat`.`habitatid`)

FROM protected\views\birds\_view.php:

<?php

$habitats = $data->habitat;

&#036;allHabitats = &quot;&quot;;

foreach (&#036;habitats as &#036;myHabitat):

if (&#036;allHabitats == &quot;&quot;)

&#036;allHabitats = &#036;allHabitats . &#036;myHabitat-&gt;habitat;

else 

&#036;allHabitats = &#036;allHabitats . ', ' . &#036;myHabitat-&gt;habitat;

endforeach

?>

<b><?php echo CHtml::encode($data->getAttributeLabel(‘habitats’)); ?>:</b>

<?php echo CHtml::encode($allHabitats); ?>