Jquery In Views

I’m sure this is ignorance of how 2.0 works, but the following script:

<script>

$(document).ready(function() {

});

</script>

results in the dollar sign as undefined in a view, but works fine in the main layout. The view is a simple echo "hello" call.

Also, I want to use jQuery UI, but I wasn’t sure how or where to add it or register it. Is the documentation ready for this yet?

Thanks for any leads. Yii 2.0 is looking great!

https://github.com/yiisoft/yii2/blob/master/docs/guide/assets.md

Thank you for the pointer. I read that section and others over several times. Please don’t take this as harsh criticism, because I think Yii is amazing and I fully appreciate all the volunteer effort and intelligent design that has gone into it. But I can’t follow the documentation regarding assets at all. (I’ve been a developer for 30 years, 15 using PHP and I’ve been using Yii since the very first release.)

I installed the basic app and it works great out of the box, as long as I don’t try to use jquery in any of the views. I added these lines to my view to see if it would help:

use app\assets\AppAsset;

AppAsset::register($this);

It didn’t change anything. I tried adding ‘yii\web\JqueryAsset’ to the $depends array in AppAsset.php to no avail also. The jquery.js file is clearly being loaded in the javascript debug console, and I can reference it successfully in the main layout, but not the view. I have the general sense from the documentation that each view page now needs to have something in it that tells it to recognize jquery, but I can’t see what that could be, especially since it has been loaded.

Thanks again for the help, any for other pointers to code examples you might be able to provide. I’m looking forward to an update to Larry Ullman’s book!

P.S. I also added these test lines:

$this->registerJs('alert("hello");', \yii\web\VIEW::POS_HEAD);

$this->registerJs('$(document).ready(function() { alert("hello"); });', \yii\web\VIEW::POS_HEAD);