Is there a good i18n extension?

Hi,

I’m new to Yii and I think it’s an amazing, really great framework.

Unfortunately it seems it does have a weakness: internationalization (i18N).

Yii’s built-in i18n mechanism has a very obvious design fault, in that the whole text of a message in the “source application language” has to be used to reference messages. The main (but not only) problem of this approach is that if you want to change a message in the language that happens to be the “source application language”, you have to do a search and replace throughout your whole code - that alone is enough for making it completely unviable. A partial workaround is to use a fictitious source application language, but even that way it is cumbersome because stuff like plural form syntax has to be included into the source messages.

This has been discussed here: http://www.yiiframework.com/forum/index.php/topic/15363-changes-in-translations/page__p__76314__hl__tran+lation+find+replace#entry76314

So my question is, is there, or does anybody know, some extension that handles i18n in a better way? Similar to that used in most multilanguage frameworks, such as for example in Android applications? where there is no "source application language" at all, and a string ID is used to refer to messages?

(and hopefully one that still has some sort of plural form management)?

thanks in advance

m.

I believe that you are wrong. You can ‘force’ translation even when the source and target languages are the same, and thus solve this problem by setting… yep - “forceTranslation” to true in main.php config file:

'messages' => array(

'forceTranslation' => true,

),

This way, messages sources in your code, assuming that are written in English, will still be translation into English when Yii::t() is called. See more in the API documentation.

I don’t think that solves the issues I mentioned. Or am I missing something?