Is 'id' request variable a Yii convention?

Hello boys (and girls) and happy new year!

I am new to Yii so don’t get angry with me…

I have a MySQL table as below:

Table Students{

studentid (PK)

name

}

managed by an Active Record model and its controller {automatically created by Gii (CRUD)}

In the view page of the Students AR (?r=students/view&id=<something>) the request variable is called “id”. Is there a convention to the name of the request variable? Why isn’t it “studentid” as the one in the table? Can I change the name of the request variables?

thanxxx

Yes you can,

The code generators are the one responsable of creating by default the $id parameter even though they are using primaryKey from table Schema. You can change that

update:

if you ID differs from conventional, please review the use of primaryKey on your model http://www.yiiframework.com/doc/api/1.1/CActiveRecord#primaryKey-detail

There really isn’t a need to prefix your table columns with the name of the table as then you end up referencing them as $student->studentid rather than just $student->id, which is much nicer. Prefixing columns with names only made sense when you were using direct SQL without ORM, so that it was easier to write queries. Generally you only need to prefix foreign keys e.g. $course->department_id. Also, I would suggest naming your tables using singular rather than plural naming (e.g. Student, instead of Students), if you have any control over creation of the database. In terms of table names either use _ as separator between words or use camelCase for your field names. This will generate the best results using Gii, without having to tweak with Gii templates.

So, my recommendation is that you change your table to make life easier for yourself when actually programming.