How to update a specific model attribute?

I’m pretty new to Yii.Though I find Yii is great,I’m quite confused with writing codes myself some time.For example,I want to do run such a sql:

"UPDATE profile SET avatar=‘newValue’ WHERE avatar=‘oldValue’ and user_id=100 ";

Then how can I turn it into CActiveRecord?Is it something like this? Or there is a better way?

Thank You For Your Reply In Advance! I’m new and it seems that I cannot reply you right now according to the rules.

$model = new Profile;

$avatar=$model->findByAttributes(array('avatar'=>'oldValue','user_id'=>100));

$avatar->attributes=array('avatar'=>'newValue');

$avatar->save();

This code looks ok.

One thing you can do is skip the new Profile part - you are really just loading an existing model, not creating a new one.

$avatar=Profile::model()->findByAttributes(array('avatar'=>'oldValue','user_id'=>100));

$avatar->save();

You should also put some error handling code in there (if user_id invalid, etc) but this is a good example.

/* moved to general discussion - not a tip, snippet or tutorial */

Is there any way to do this via updateAll() or updateByPk()? The reason I ask is because I have a similar situation but I want to use massive assignment, and I’m having problems with the $model->attributes() array always containing even columns that must not be changed.

my rules():

array('username, password, expire_date', 'required', 'on'=>'insert'),

array('username, expire_date', 'required', 'on'=>'update'),

array('user_id', 'numerical', 'integerOnly'=>true, 'on'=>'insert'),

array('username', 'length', 'max'=>45),

array('username', 'unique', 'allowEmpty'=>false, 'caseSensitive'=>false, 'on'=>'insert'),

array('password', 'length', 'max'=>255),

array('user_id, username, password, create_date, expire_date', 'safe', 'on'=>'search'),

my controller:

$model2= new UserLogins('update');

$model2->setScenario('update'); // Just making sure I'm on the "update" scenario