How to process AR objects

I'm fairly new to AR way of working with db-data, and I've run into some difficulties when processing the results of CActiveRecords functions. To illustrate, I will state a scenario wit two tables:

Table 1 'categories' has fields 'cat_id', 'cat_name'

Table 2 'items' has fields 'item_id', 'cat_id', 'item_name'

All items must belong to a category. So now I want to make a "manage" page for all records. This is what i would normally without AR (with SQL):

• Get all data from 'categories' and 'items' and store in an array like this:

$items['cat_one'][] = 'item_one'

$items['cat_one'][] = 'item_two'

$items['cat_one'][] = 'item_three'

$items['cat_two'][] = 'item_four'

$items['cat_two'][] = 'item_five'

$items['cat_three'][] = 'item_six'

$items['cat_four'][] = 'item_seven'

Then when handeling it i would do it with two foreach loops:

foreach ($items as $cat_name => $array) {

// do something with category

foreach ($array as $item_name) {

// do something with item

}

}

Now, when I tried this with AR i ran into some problems. I did a findAll() on both AR models. Then when doing a foreach on the result of the categories model I couldn’t find a way to pick out only the items belonging to the category i was handling, without doing a foreach on all the items and an if to disregard those that didnt belong to the current category.

This seems like an awful lot of loops working with AR objects as oppose to arrays.

So (at last) my question is: Are there some functions that can process returned AR objects in a way that is efficient? Or any other way to solve this scenario with AR objects instead of SQL/array way?

I would suggest something like:

I am assuming your sending the cat_id you want to show records for via the url (controller/action/cat_id/1).

<?php

$criteria = new CDbCriteria;

$criteria->condition = 'cat_id = :cat_id';

$criteria->params = array(':cat_id' => $_GET['cat_id']);

$rows = Items::model()->findAll($criteria);