How To Insert Data From Web Service/xml/json Into Mysql Db Using Ar Model Class

Hi, i’m new to Yii, still learning and loving it a lot. So the thing is that i have to build a product retrieval system, which is based on Amazon web services.

First i have created the necessary tables to hold the information about the products. Then i’ve created the model class using the awesome Gii. After that i generated the CRUD using Gii again. Now i’m kinda stuck. So Gii provides a form to let the users populate the tables with the necessary info. Now in my system/app i have no need for a form input, for any of the main tables that would hold the product information. The tables should auto populate with data gathered from Amazon API. Only a few tables can have form related to the input fields.

So can anyone please guide me in the right direction, on how would i start implementing the functionality. Should i remove this code from the corresponding view and write the functionality in the Controller class.

<div class="row">

<?php echo $form->labelEx($model,'type_id'); ?>

<?php echo $form->textField($model,'type_id'); ?>

<?php echo $form->error($model,'type_id'); ?>

</div>

Or should i generate a separate view files. Right now i can’t seem to find any headway. How to start ? What should be the workflow sequence for a typical application built using Yii. Where would i put the business logic? Of course i know that the business logic should always reside within the Controller class as per the MVC paradigm. But should i write all of the application logic in a single controller class.

I’ve read about modules and components. But the dilemma i’m facing is that i don’t know when is the right time to separate the necessary logic into its respective modules or components.