How to better design my application - Service layer

Dear, first of all sorry for my bad English, it is not my native language.

To the point, I want to say that I have been working with Yii2 for a few years but I have never fully exploited its capabilities, I also consider myself a programmer in constant advance.

Until now I have had to develop small and medium applications, but today I find myself with a bigger project.

I have not left the mvc pattern at the moment because I feel very comfortable working like this.

I have seen several threads from past years on the topic of delegating certain application logic and business model to another layer of services, the truth is that I have never worked with something like this or in other languages, so I have no experience.

But I am presented with cases for example where I have to save contact details such as addresses, telephone numbers and emails for various entities. And that seems to me that repeating it in different models, for example: clients, students, teachers, is not something well developed. I am giving scenarios but I have several of these.

So I was looking a little bit about SOLID principles and about cohesion, coupling, etc. So I fell into these threads where they talk about Yii2 lacking a layer of services, to be able to host everything that has nothing to do with the data models of the database, such as calculating taxes, calculating other types of questions that make to the business model but not precisely to the data in the database of an active record model.

So I ask, what is the recommendation, what are the recommended good practices? Where can I see a tutorial, documentation, to continue on a good path in my application design? since the official documentation only talks about fat models, skinny drivers. But there is no information about what I am talking about.

Well thank you very much in advance, and I wish you all be well in the face of this global health problem.

I await your advice.