How do you test your code?

Hi All,

Being a single developer, I rarely documenting or planning my testing.Although I did test my code, but just test that it works. I know this is bad. I think Yii provides good test framework. My question is how do you do your testing? Will you do the Functional tests only? Or will you do the model testing? If it is just a simple Customer model CRUD pages. How do you test?

I want to start developing by testing first. Please give me some guidance.

Thank you,

Daniel

I test complicated things with unit testing and simple stuff like CRUD either with Codeception or… manually.

@samdark thanks for the sharing. May I ask you further, if simple CRUD generated by yii. For example, customer database. No complicated rules or logic. Just validation rules,

1. like code and name should be unique,
  2. Code can be generated automatically for next code (get max value +1) if we use XXX at the end of the code.

Do we need to test use codecept? Or just manual test? I usually screen record the manual test sine I do not have time to write test document.

I am sorry to ask these questions. I want to learn from the expert on how they are doing their work.

I use yii from v1.0. Even I knew yii before php. On my uni, I only learn java. I learned php through yii. I love this framework.

Depends if it’s admin panel or user-available website. If it is admin panel and something not working doesn’t cost much, I’d not test it. Will be reported by admin. If it’s user-oriented then Codeception would do.

Manual tests are rarely a good thing, since you can’t really tests all the situations, and, worst part is, you’re the developer so you know the product and may end up unconsciously only test the path that work. You will also get sloppy with time, and forget to tests things.

A good way to start with testing, if you’re using basic or advanced templates, is to use the tests already provided as a basis.