How And Where To Initialize Object To Handle Encryption (Phpseclib)?

I am new to Yii, and to PHP frameworks in general. I need a little help figuring this out:

The application I am developing needs to store user names and emails with encryption in the database. I think I will use the phpsec library. Here is what I have done so far:

1. installed phpsec in vendors folder

2. in congig/main.php I wrote:

'import'=>array(

'application.vendors.phpseclib.Crypt.AES'

),

What I need to do now is to initialize a cipher object like this:

$cipher = new Crypt_AES(CRYPT_AES_MODE_ECB);

$cipher->setPassword('whatever');

To finally be able to encrypt and decrypt:

$cipher->encrypt($plaintext)

What I do not know, is where to initialize the $cipher object. One idea I had is to do it in the User model, because the things that are going to be encrypted are the user’s data. In this case how would I do it? One possible way is to have an encrypt() and decrypt() function inside the User model and inside those functions initialize and do the encryption/decryption. But I do not know if it is a good idea to initialize the object each time the function is called.

Another thing that came to my mind is to have it as a component of my application. I read in another post that I could register a model in config/main.php, in the components array. something like:

'components'=>array(

'Crypt_AES'=>array(

'class'=>'cipher',

)

)

but to initialize the object I need to pass a parameter Crypt_AES(CRYPT_AES_MODE_ECB), so I am not sure how would that work. Also I believe I need to copy the php file to modules instead of the vendors folder?

I am a little bit lost.

I guess the most appropriate course of action is to perform the encryption in the user model’s beforeSave() method and the decryption in the model’s afterFind() method. You should probably create additional attributes in the model (but not in the database) to hold the plain text version of each field.