Help needed on Relational ActiveRecord

Hi all,

I am new to Yii, now trying to use ActiveRecord to do my projects. Below is the 2 model generated by Yii shell from to MySQL linked table, Package and PackageDetail :

class Package extends CActiveRecord

{

public static function model($className=__CLASS__)

{

return parent::model($className);

}

public function tableName()

{

return 'Package';

}

public function relations()

{

return array(

'packageDetails' => array(self::HAS_MANY, 'PackageDetail', 'packageId'),

);

}

}

class PackageDetail extends CActiveRecord

{

public static function model($className=__CLASS__)

{

return parent::model($className);

}

public function tableName()

{

return 'PackageDetail';

}

public function relations()

{

return array(

'package' => array(self::BELONGS_TO, 'Package', 'packageId'),

);

}

}

I can find the record with package id 1, and want to read the colume data in the packageDetail

$package =Package::model()->findByPk(1);

$packageDetail = $package->packageDetails;

$packageDetail->COLUME_NAME.. // Error here..

Can any expert advice what will be the code? I use 2 days to figure out… but :(

Or can guard me where/what to read to understand more about this ?

Thanks!

As a package can have multiple details (HAS_MANY), the related object will always be an array.

Try $packageDetail[0]->COLUME_NAME

Hi Pestaa,

It works! Thank you for your kind advice. My ActiveRecord concept still bad, trying to make use to it… Previously use query directly… lots of dirty works when update and maintaining.

Can I ask you another question, related to the above situation.

When come to add new record, I am using the /protected/views/package/_form.php generated by Yii shell. I would like to allow user to add a new record (in my case a new Package), together with the package details (HAS_MANY).

Can you brief me what is the steps I need to take to make the modification?

Here is my steps (not yet try, just thinkning):