Get One Record From Cactiverecord's Array

Hi there.

I’m new in Yii, doing my first project (some kind of personal calendar, or organizer).

The solution I use is apparently not optimal, if you know how to do it better, please write me about it.

Situation:

I need to change the value of some CActiveRecord model with particular field I don’t know until user choose it in view.

How can I filter (select from) CActiveRecord’s array that I pass to the view from my controller without using all the variety of find…() methods?

I think they will query database, but it’s unnecessary for me, because I already pass all needed information to the view.

I use CActiveRecord instead of DataProvider in order to save changes, which user will do.

Here are the fields of model I need to change (change only field Name).

* The followings are the available columns in table 'tbl_category':

* @property string $ID

* @property string $OwnerID

* @property string $Name

So for example, user checks the name of Category from DropDownList he wants to change and then he writes a new name for this Category, push the button and saves new name of Category in database.

[list=1][][size=2]Create a ManageCategoryForm model ([/size]CFormModel[size=2]).[/size][][size=2]Wrap the drop down and textfield in a form with a submit button. [/size][*][size=2]Then in your controller you can access the categoryId and the new value.[/size][/list]

Matt

Thanks for attention.

I’m acquainted with the process of creating web application itself. But I wonder how to work with the data (get, choose one of, change and save changes in DB) I get from DB with as less queries to DB as possible. And in your answer I can’t find some advices how to do that. If it will be possible, I would like to see some code solution for my situation.

And as I understand the purpose of using CFormModel… It will be better from documentation:

Would you please clarify how CFormModel can work with data from DB and than save it back to DB.