Generating Code with Gii - CRUD TUT not working.

Hi Everyone,

Fresh newbie here. I have experience with MVC but brand new to Yii.

Working my way through the 2.0 Guide and I am currently doing the Gii CRUD generator and I get the following error

The table does not exist: {{%country_search}}

I have followed the steps exactly and when I try again it shows everything as unchanged. Is it intended to create a country_search table? I check and the table doesn’t exist.

So far I have liked what I see, but as I am new and haven’t played around a lot yet I am stumped. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Clay

Hello Clay, did you modify your db.php according to your database name in your config folder?

Is {{%country_search}} in your \models\CountrySearch.php or where did you get that message???

CountrySearch is no database table. It´s a "help" model for searching in the Country table generated by gii…

Thanks yiim and Simplicity

In the tutorial (2.0 Guide - Getting Started - Generating code with Gii)it walks you through CRUD Generation using an example of Country / CountrySearch / CountryController.

I have followed the example and when I go to the URL to see the example in action I get the error.

I have setup the db as I previously went through the Model Generator in the same tut. Did not have any issues until the generate code with GII / CRUD Generation tutorial.

Gii is not supposed to create database or tables. You have to create them before you start using gii. In this tutorial you should first create Country model that is representing country table. Then, when you create CRUD, Gii will create additional model CountrySearch that should extend from Country model, plus it will create CountryController and appropriate views. Guide is good, and if you follow it correctly everything should work, except if :

1. You are using advanced template, in that case you need to update namespaces too in gii,