Fixtures and testing?

Hello everyone, I’m pretty new at Yii and even newer at fixtures. I’m not really getting what are they and how they works. What I understood was that, the fixtures are called before the tests run, to modify the table in the DB to a known state. During the test you do some changes to the table (add, remove new records) and then, when the test is finished, the DB is restored to the state before the fixture was used. After implementing it, I found that the table is getting modifed according to my fixture, but then, after the test finishes, the table is not restored. I’m I getting wrong how the fixtures work or did I get something missing in their implementation?

Thank you a lot

It’s the expected behavior. The testing framework does nothing to restore the db state after each test.

We need to have a fixture in order to get a certain fixed state of database before doing a test, otherwise we could not run that test repeatedly under the same condition.

Hello, thank you for the relpy. So, I don’t really get how to use the fixtures. I understood that they are used to put the DB in a known state before the test, but then, after the test, I don’t need (don’t want) this state anymore. The solutions are two: I restore the DB manually after each test suite, which for me does not make sense, or I use fixtures reflecting exaclty the table I want to manipulate, which also does not make sense (I don’t want to have fixtures with inside all the data of the DB).