Download file using Yii::app()->getRequest()->sendFile

Hi there.

I am complete noob, so please forgive my ignorance.

I have searched in the yii documentation, the yii cookbook, and online for a tutorial that will show me how to do this, but I have yet to find a solution. I’m sure it’s pretty simple, I would appreciate any help.

I have a facility whereby the admin user can upload files to the server. I now need to make a link where that file is available for download by any user using CHttpRequest’s sendFile() function. The link will be located in the side menu (using ‘views/layouts/column2.php’.)

The code on my view:

$link = '<div id="schedule_download"></div>';

echo CHtml::link($link ,array('/admin/download'));

The code in my controller:

public function actionDownload()

{

//find the last uploaded file  

$criteria=new CDbCriteria

$criteria->order = 'admin_id DESC';

$criteria->limit = '1';

$downloads = Admin::model()->findAll($criteria);

foreach ($downloads as $download):

$path = Yii::app()->request->hostInfo . Yii::app()->request->baseURL . '/uploads/schedule/' . $download->schedule;

endforeach;

if(file_exists($path))

{

return Yii::app()->getRequest()->sendFile('myfile.pdf', @file_get_contents($path));

}

}

When I click on the link it takes me to a blank page.

I would merely like the file download dialogue to appear and no other page re-directs.

Please can somebody show me where I am going wrong, or provide a link to a tutorial that will explain this process better. Thanks :)

don’t know how others do :lol:

here will be my may:

a link for download

<a  href="<?php echo $this->createUrl('someDownloadAction','fileId'=>'someXXX') ;?>"  target="helperFrame" > downloadIt </a>

<iframe src="" style="display:none" name="helperFrame"/>

above using hidden iframe as the link 's target . so the page will be not jumped .