Does Yii have equvalent of HMVC in Codeigniter

I need advice from someone who used develop in CI and then shifted to Yii on whether Yii has an equvalent of HMVC?

Can you explain what it is / what you’d use it for?

Typically you will not need it in Yii since there are widgets.

I think what Eddy is asking for is the ability to make request (and obtain a response) from a controller.

Like what can be done using the curl library from php

Alse, this extension implements that library in yii terms!

PoL

In CI HMVC is a method to call one controller from another w/o additional HTTP request. When I was in CI camp we used it for widget-like functionality.

Oh… I understand now, thanks samdark!!!

Well I’ve never used CI before. But I search that term HMVC in google and what I see make me think that the solution I’m proposing is tee correct one… my bad :(

Nice thread,

thanks for commenting samdark

the difference between widget and HMVC

is reusability

ex : if I have a controller used in ajax , with HMVC i could reuse the same controller to simply push the snippet in a view, just like a renderPartial but with all the logic that comes with the controler.

it’s true this is possible to do with widgets, but if I have my controller doing all the logics and building what I need, for the moment I would have to duplicate the controller into a widget, where with HMVC we could simply use the same controller action. it also quite practical for testing ajax features.

so I’d say widgets are great for anything that isn’t allready in a controller, otherwise we get duplication.

so both are great to have , hope Yii will concider it.

something like renderAction($path) would be super.

@pol : using Curl for this would do the trick but would be a bit too much extra processing

Well Tibor … you are summoning a rather old thread, but otherwise perhaps I wouldn’t find it :)