Does Massive Assignment Work On Class Variables?

Hi guys - a noob here, so I apologize if this is an elementary questions, but I was unable to find an answer through searching. I have a form that gets both db attributes and class variables. This code works fine - it assigns both my attributes and variables:

$model->attributes = $_POST['Billing'];

However, I need a second instance of the model because I am writing two rows to the db, so I do this:

$model2 = new Billing;

$model2->attributes = $model->attributes;

The db attributes copy to the second instance just fine, but none of the class variables copy over (and I do have a safe rule for them). I have quite a number of class variables, so I was hoping I wouldn’t have to do individual assignments for each. Why does the massive assignment work with the _POST data, but not with the model-to-model assignment? Is there an alternative way to do a model-to-model assign that would include class variables?

I’d appreciate any insight anyone might have into this.

Thanks!

Assuming you’re performing this second insertion at the same time as the first, could you not just assign both from the POST data?

$model->attributes = $_POST['Billing'];

$model2->attributes = $_POST['Billing'];

Thanks Keith - that works. There are several fields I fill after the POST data assignment, so with the new instance I’ll have to manually assign those as well - would have been nice to be able to do it in one massive assign, but no big deal. Any idea why POST-to-model massive assignment includes class variables, but model-to-model massive assignment does not? Is it supposed to work that way, or is that a bug?

Out of interest, what’s the purpose of the fields that you’re manually assigning?