Dependent dropdowns

Hi,

I’m only new to ajax and yii. I’ve been having some problems with dependent drop downs. I’ve followed the the cookbook (cookbook 24) with no luck : (

So here is what I’ve done create a Test table with a country and city column in it. Generated the model/crud using yiic.

Then i edit the _form.php as follows

<div class="row">

<?php echo $form->labelEx($model,'Country'); ?>

<?php echo $form->dropDownList($model,'Country',array(1=>'USA',2=>'Australia',3=>'Thailand'), array('ajax'=>array('type'=>'POST','success'=>'alert("Hi")', 'url'=>'test/dynamiccities','update'=>'#City'))); ?>

<?php echo $form->error($model,'Country'); ?>

</div>

<div class="row">

<?php echo $form->labelEx($model,'City'); ?>

<?php echo $form->dropDownList($model,'City',array()); ?>

<?php echo $form->error($model,'City'); ?>

</div>

I added the success alert to see if its running it seems to but…

Added the following code code to the TestController.php

public function actionDynamiccities() {

echo CHtml::tag('option', array('value'=>'0'), CHtml::encode('Test'), true);

}

And added the function to the security

public function accessRules()

{

return array(

array('allow',  // allow all users to perform 'index' and 'view' actions

'actions'=>array('index','view','Dynamiccities'),

'users'=>array('*'),

I get no update on the second drop down.

Still can working out whats wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance

Iain

Edit:

Fixed typo in controller name

In the call _form.php you have ‘test/dynamiccities’ but later you say that the controller is TextController.php

so if the controller is TextController you should call ‘textdynamiccities’

not sure if it matters, but in the accessRules put Dynamiccities all lowercase as is index and view