Defining Relationship Between Models - Create Intermediate Table (New To Yii)

Hello,

My name is Tanya and I am new to Yii. I would like to create an intermediate table using a join in order to link two models, however they do not share a primary key. I would like to do an inner join of the ID from table 1 and ID from table 2, and have a 3rd table linking the two (acting as an intermediate).

What I am unsure of (being a complete newbie) is how to link these two ids into the third table ..ex. [b]how to alter my relations in the models, and how tosee` this new table.[/b]

Here`s a bit of info on my tables;

Table 1;

Primary key => uniqueID (autoincrement)

name_ID

name

Table 2;

Primary key => uniqueID (autoincrement)

name2_ID

name2

What I would like to do is create a table where I can create a relationship between name_ID (table 1) and name2_ID (table 2), so that when I retrieve name_ID info from table 1, I can also get a hold of name2_ID’s associated with name_ID. It is a has_many relationship => name_ID has many name2_ID. The two tables DO NOT share a common entry found in both (for ex. name1 (table 1) and name1(table2)).

I’m sorry if what I am asking doesn’t make sense, I am having trouble vocalizing this. I have been reading lots of forum examples and online tutorials, but unfortunately I haven`t found a solution to my problem.

Thank you in advance for your help!

Hi Tanya, welcome to the forum.

So you want to create an intermediate table like this?

Table 3:

Primary key => uniqueID (autoincrement) ... this may be unnecessary, though

name_ID => FK to Table1.name_ID

name2_ID => FK to Table2.name2_ID

If so, then I think the relations are:

Table_1 HAS_MANY Table_3

and

Table_3 BELONGS_TO Table_2

Or

Table_1 MANY_MANY Table_2 (using Table_3 as an intermediate table)

By default, Yii’s Relational AR assumes that a FK points to the primary key of the related table. But you can specify the custom PK->FK association.