CRUD application with Gii throws errors

Hello. I’m new in yii and i’m trying to dive into it.

I’m following the tutorial by creating my first app in yii.

http://www.yiiframework.com/doc/guide/1.1/en/quickstart.first-app

I managed to reach the tutorial till the step 2. Implementing CRUD Operations. At the step Generating User Model i get the following error:

Fatal error: Class ‘Controller’ not found in C:\xampp\htdocs\yiidemo\protected\controllers\SiteController.php on line 4

I use xampp stack 1.7.3 on windows 7 64 bit. The directories are fully writable by ‘Everyone’.

Any advice?

Every application generated with using yiic webpp tool has its controllers (actually the one and only - SiteController) extending not from base CController class but from private declared one Controller class. It is declared in protected/components/Controller.php. Make yourself sure that you haven’t removed this file from that folder and if it is still there, then check your protected/config/main.php (main configuration file for application) if you have following lines in it:

// autoloading model and component classes

'import'=>array(

'application.models.*',

'application.components.*',

),

If you removed components folder from auto-load list, your Controller class from Controller.php file is not loaded and your PHP cannot find it, displaying error like you cited.

I’m using exactly the same version of XAMPP (only Lite edition) on exactly the same system and everything works fine. Beside such errors are not related in any way to server configuration.

You should strongly avoid giving write permissions to all folders and to all users! You’re asking yourself for a big trouble if you mistakenly copy folders with that access setings to your web-server. You should only make folders assets and protected/runtime writeable by webserver process and all others on read only access!

Thank you for answering.