Controller and View interactions

Hello guys, i’m very sorry if this question might sound dumb, but im really new to Yii and php in general, i tried watching and reading as many guides as possible before posting my doubts.
I’m building a simple app and what i need to do is to allow the user to be able to choose which kind of Login he wants to use. for that reason i thought this process (tell me if it’s a wrong one and if there is a better way to do please):
the default method in the Controller will be actionLogin(), which will redirect to a view (i dont think i need a model to coordinate this right?) with just 2 buttons to decide which kind of login the user wanna use. by simply clicking one of these messages, what i want to do is to redirect directly to the method that will handle that type of login, actionLoginCAS being CAS login and the other login on Local db, so technically i need a way to call controller functions from a view button click, or is this wrong?
Would be just better to create a submit post button that passes down a $param and use this $param to create a switch internally in the actionLogin() and then call the right method?

SiteController.php

public function actionLogin()
{
//redirect to a view with 2 buttons to allow the user to decide the login methods below
}
public function actionLoginCAS()
{
//shall return here and do stuff if the user presses the CAS button
}
public function actionLoginLocal()
{
//shall return here and do stuff if the user presses the Local button
}

Hi @SirFisho, welcome to the forum.

I would go with the 2nd approach. The 1st one may work and I don’t think It’s wrong. But the 2nd one will be simpler and easier when implementing input validation and error reporting.

I would create 3 models:

1. A model for the login action.
  2. A model for the logic of local login.
  3. A model for the logic of CAS login.